top of page

Potato Pancakes



Potato Pancakes

Potato Pancakes

Yes, potato pancakes! I'm that girl who'd prefer something savoury over something really sweet 95% of the time. I do have the occasional pancakes and waffles for breakfast drizzled with maple syrup and lots of chocolate but usually, my meals are savoury.

I've decided to take the usual pancake stack and make a savoury version of it because why not, right? Plus, I really love potatoes since they're so versatile and go so well with different flavours. I gave this one a go and I'm so happy with how they turned out.

I love this recipe so much that I'm kind of scared to share it since I don't know how you guys would like it. Haha but I really hope you guys appreciate this savoury stack.

So here it is! Check out the recipe below.


Potato Pancakes

Potato Pancakes

2 cups mashed potatoes (from around 4 medium sized potatoes)

1/4 cup flour

1/8 cup nutritional yeast

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp minced onion

1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal + 3 tbsp water)

Toppings (optional)

Tomato sauce (I mixed tomato paste with some water, salt, and nutritional yeast)

Vegan cheese

Ranch dip

Fresh basil

  1. Steam the potatoes until soft. (I kept the skin on but feel free to peel them off.)

  2. Mix the flax seed meal and water. Set aside for a 5 minutes, or until thick

  3. Mash the potatoes. Add in the rest of the ingredients. Mix well.

  4. Form the potato mixture into patties. I started by forming around 1/4 cup of the mixture in balls before flattening it on my palm then cooking.

  5. On a hot non-stick pan, add a little oil before putting the potato pancake. Cook for 3 minutes on each side on medium until golden brown and crisp.

  6. In assembling the stack, I added tomato sauce in between each layer.

  7. On the top most later, I placed some Daiya cheese shreds then microwaved it for 30 seconds until melted.

  8. Note: the toppings are complete optional! The pancakes taste really good as is already. Enjoy!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page