top of page

Vegan Pesto Risotto with Homemade Basil Pesto

Updated: Dec 28, 2019



Vegan Pesto Risotto | thefoodietakesflight

My favourite comfort food? Risotto. And possibly other creamy, comforting dishes like mac n cheese or even some pasta alfredo. But my go-to is definitely risotto because I LOVE RICE!

I'm also a huge fan of pesto and figured, why not combine the two?

I'm so happy I did.


Vegan Pesto Risotto | thefoodietakesflight

So a pesto risotto was born. And needless to say, it was so good.

I'm definitely adding this into my go-to risotto flavour combinations. But my favourite still has to be Mushroom Risotto! Though I really love the flavours of basil in this one. Oh and did I mention that I picked the basil for my pesto straight from my garden? Doesn't get any better than that.


I can't stress enough how rewarding it is to grow your own herbs! Saves you so much money too. Plus you can always get them fresh whenever you need them in your next recipe.

Anyway, I'll be sharing the recipes down below!


Vegan Pesto Risotto | thefoodietakesflight

 

VEGAN PESTO RISOTTO 1 cup uncooked arborio rice 4 cups stock 1/4 cup white wine (optional but very recommended) 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp basil pesto (easy recipe below) 2 tbsp oil/vegan butter Salt, to taste 3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped Few pieces dry porcini (optional but for added flavor) 1. Prepare and heat the stock in a separate pot. Add in dried mushrooms if using. 2. In a deep pan/pot, heat the oil and 1 tbsp pesto. Sauté the garlic. 3. Once cooked, add in the rice. Coat in the oil mixture. 4. Pour in the oil and let simmer until the rice absorbs it and turns slightly creamy. 5. Add in the pesto. 6. On medium heat, add 1 cup of stock and mix once in a while. Once it starts to dry up, add another cup of stock. Continue doing so until the rice is cooked. 7. Add additional pesto (if desired) and salt to taste before turning off heat. Top with some vegan parmesan or some more fresh basil. Enjoy while hot! HOMEMADE BASIL PESTO

2 1/2 cups packed basil leaves 1 cup olive oil 1/2 cup pine nuts/cashews, optional 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice 1 tsp salt, or to taste 1. Process everything until smooth! VEGAN “PARMESAN” 1 cup almond flour/meal* 4 tbsp nutritional yeast 1 tsp salt

1. Mix everything together then store in a jar/air-right container.

*You can opt to use raw almonds and process them until a flour consistency is reached to make your own almond flour/meal.

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page