top of page

Crispy Falafels and Spicy Garlic Dip (Vegan Recipe)

Crispy Falafels with a Garlic Dip, anyone? I made these with of course, chickpeas, and a few other pantry-staples! I’ve been cooking up a lot these past few weeks under lockdown and of course using lots of accessible ingredient while also using up what I have in my pantry!


Check out the video below to see how I made these:

I used fresh dill from my plant to mix in my falafels since I didn’t have any parsley or cilantro and it added this somewhat zesty flavour to the falafels!

You can of course use fresh or dried dill, parsley, or cilantro! It’s been a bit tricky getting supplies here these past few weeks so I’m just really grateful I grow some herbs here at home!

I made the garlic dip with pantry-staples as well and blended it until thick! I added garlic but you can also opt to have it plain! It stores well in the refrigerator too.

I also added some sriracha to some of the garlic dip I made for that added spice!

If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :)

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes (and a whole section for Asian recipes!) that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Also, two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲

 

Crispy Falafels with a Garlic Dip

Makes 20 falafels 350g dry chickpeas (2 cups)*, soaked overnight 1 red or white onion 1 tbsp fresh dill (totally optional! Feel free to use dried herbs. Parsley and cilantro work too!) 1 1/2 tsp cumin seed powder 1 tsp salt 6 tbsp flour (I used all-purpose) 1/2 tsp baking soda 3 tbsp nutritional yeast, for flavour (feel free to leave out and adjust salt to taste) 3 tbsp sesame seeds, for coating (optional) Neutral oil, for cooking (I used canola) *Note: using dry chickpeas is highly recommended since canned chickpeas will turn out very mushy if used to make falafels! If you opt to use canned chickpeas, don’t process the chickpeas. You can simple mash them with a fork.

Steps (Baking option below)

  1. Wash chickpeas thoroughly. Place chickpeas in a container with water. Soak the chickpeas overnight. They will double in size.

  2. Drain water from the chickpeas. Place the chickpeas, onion, and fresh dill/herbs (if using) in a food processor until throughly combined.

  3. Transfer the chickpea mixture into a bowl. Mix in the cumin, salt, flour, baking soda, and nutritional yeast (if using). Mix until well combined. Feel free to adjust salt, to taste.

  4. If using sesame seeds, place them in a shallow plate.

  5. Shape the falafels into patties. Place falafels in the sesame seeds and coat. Pat down the falafels to ensure the sesame seeds stick.

  6. Heat a pan with oil. I used a cast iron pan. Once hot, place the falafels and cook for a few minutes on each side until golden brown and crisp.

  7. Drain excess oil from the falafels.

  8. Enjoy while hot with the garlic dip (recipe below) or other dipping sauce of choice!


Baking option for the falafels: Place the falafels on a lined baking tray (I use parchment paper). Brush the falafels with some oil and bake at 350F for 40-45 minutes or until lightly brown and crisp. Flip falafels halfway through.

Spicy Garlic Dip

Makes around 3/4 cup 1/2 cup neutral oil (I used canola) 1/4 cup soy milk 2 tsp white vinegar 1/4 tsp sugar 1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt, adjust according desired to taste 1 tsp minced garlic (optional, for garlic mayo version!) Sriracha, adjust depending on desired taste!

Steps

  1. Place all ingredients in the blender. Blend until thick! Feel free to adjust seasoning according to desired taste. Mix in some sriracha if you want some spice!

STORAGE TIPS:

  1. Falafels - you can freeze cooked falafels and just reheat on a pan or oven toaster from frozen until crisp!

  2. Garlic dip - you can keep this dip in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. Note that it hardens when cold but will soften once in room temperature and mixed well.

 
0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page