top of page

Easy Fluffy Vegan Pancakes (Pantry-Friendly Recipe)

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

I made these easy fluffy vegan pancakes for Harry’s (my dog) 1st birthday last April 5th! We celebrated here at home and I also of course made some pancakes for my family and myself. Everyone loved it, but I think Harry particularly enjoyed his the most since it’s not everyday he gets to have pancakes!


Sharing this video I made of the pancake-making process as well as of Harry eating his stack :)

Pancakes are also one of my favourite comfort foods and at one point in this vegan journey I was having a stack almost everyday until I got so sick of it--so I probably didn't have a stack for weeks! And though pancake stacks come in different forms--whether gluten-free or protein-packed--fluffy all-purpose-flour-based pancakes are still my favourite. Maybe it's because I grew up eating those ready-to-eat pancake mixes that come out so moist and fluffy that I still look for the same texture now that I no longer take in dairy or eggs.


I had pancakes with chocolate chips while I made banana ones for Harry!

Easy Fluffy Vegan Pancakes Recipe | The Foodie Takes Flight

Finished my stack off with some maple syrup. I always have maple syrup in my refrigerator for my pancakes. I can't imagine having pancakes without it.

Easy Fluffy Vegan Pancakes Recipe | The Foodie Takes Flight

Here's Harry with his pancakes! His had bananas in them and we skipped on the syrup. These ingredients are safe for Harry to consume as he isn’t allergic to wheat and soy, but it would be best to determine with your veterinarian what works for your dog and what doesn’t before feeding them anything out of the usual meals they eat!

Easy Fluffy Vegan Pancakes Recipe | The Foodie Takes Flight

These pancakes are really versatile and super easy to make. The base is made with pantry staples and you can use whatever fillings you’d like (such as bananas or chocolate chips) or enjoy them as is with some maple syrup.


Get the recipe below for when you wanna try them at home! Please take care everyone!


If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :) 

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my Vegan Kitchen eBook, which contains over 95 recipes that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲


 

Easy Fluffy Vegan Pancakes

Makes 15 small pancakes, around 4.5” in diameter


Wet Ingredients

2 1/2 cup plant-based milk (I used soy milk)

1 1/2 tbsp distilled white vinegar 

1/4 cup neutral oil, I used canola

1 tsp vanilla extract

Dry Ingredients

2 1/2 cups (310g) all-purpose flour

3 tbsp sugar (I used coconut sugar)

1 1/2 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Oil for cooking, optional 

Toppings/fillings of choice (totally up to you!)

Dairy-free/vegan chocolate chips (used Enjoy Life chips)

Sliced bananas

IMPORTANT NOTE: The ingredients I used are safe for Harry (my dog) to consume as he isn’t allergic to wheat and soy, but it would be best to determine with your veterinarian what works for your dog and what doesn’t before feeding them anything out of the usual meals they eat!

Steps

  1. Mix all the wet ingredients into a bowl. Set aside.

  2. In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients. While mixing, pour in the wet mixture into the dry flour mixture

  3. Mix until well incorporated and you don't see any dry flour. There may be some lumps and that's totally fine! Don't over mix since that can "kill" the baking powder.

  4. Heat a non-stick pan*. Add a little oil (if desired).

  5. Pour a scoop of the batter depending on how big you want your pancakes. Add in the fillings you'd like. I used chocolate chips and sliced bananas.

  6. Cook for a few minutes on each side, or until bubbles start to form and the sides begin to dry out.

  7. Serve with your favorite syrup! I had mine with maple syrup and more bananas on top! Enjoy!

*You can opt not to use oil if you're using a non-stick pan! I find that the oil helps them crisp up better so I add some more when cooking.

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page