top of page

Microwave Mushroom Cheung Fun (Vegan Rice Noodle Rolls)

Updated: Aug 7, 2020

I cooked my Cheung Fun in a microwave and my dad was really not happy about it, mainly because they're traditionally cooked in a steamer, and because I had a lot of failed test batches before I figured out how to successfully cook them in a microwave.

So yes, these are Microwave Cheung Fun or rice noodle rolls filled with some sautéed mushrooms and scallions, finished off with chili garlic oil, scallions, and a generous amount of sweet soy sauce (well actually I drowned mine in soy sauce).

Throughout my rice roll-making process my dad kept stressing that I needed to steam them.. but I went ahead and microwaved them anyway being the obedient daughter that I am. 💃🏻 It took me a few failed test batches (4 to be exact) to figure out how to successfully cook these in a microwave since they’re traditionally steamed.


Check out how I made these in the video below:

So yes, this whole process of me coming out with failed batches of cheung fun really stressed my dad out. Sorry dad! 😂 but I’ve successfully done so (well at least to my fulfilment) and I’m happy with how these turned out!

Also it's important to note that these of course aren’t as thin as traditionally made cheung fun, that are steamed. They’re a bit thicker, yet really chewy and still satisfied my dimsum cravings—so this, I’m very pleased with. Plus, these are something I can easily make at home and just leave the microwave to do its thing.


You'll find the full recipe for this below, along with a video to see how it's made!

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes (and a whole section for Asian recipes!) that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Also, two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲

 

If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :)


Recipe video:


Microwave Mushroom Cheung Fun or Rice Noodle Rolls

Makes 10-12 rolls


Chewy rice noodle rolls filled with sautéed mushrooms and scallions before being rolled and enjoyed with some sweet soy sauce!

Materials you’ll need

1 or 2 large rectangular microwave-safe glass dish/es (mine is a 9.5x7.5” pyrex baking dish) with cover

Tray to fit the glass dish (for the cold water)

2 small spatulas (the silicon ones will do!)

Ladle

Brush for the oil


Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

1 1/2 cups (180g) rice flour

1/2 cup (68g) corn starch

1/2 cup (60g) tapioca starch

1/2 tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt


Wet Ingredients

4 cups warm water

1 tbsp neutral oil


Filling

200g fresh mushrooms of choice (I used a mix of shiitake and oyster), sliced

Sesame oil, for cooking

Soy sauce, to taste

1 cup chopped scallions or green onions

For serving

Sweet Soy Sauce

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp sugar, feel free to adjust according to desired sweetness

6 tbsp water

Chili Garlic Sauce

Chopped scallions

Steps

Preparing the filling

  1. Heat a large pan or wok.

  2. Add in the some sesame oil. Once hot, add in the mushrooms. Season with some soy sauce, to taste. When cooked, turn off heat and set aside.

  3. Chop scallions or green onions and set aside as well.


Preparing the batter

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients into the large bowl. Mix well. While mixing, carefully pour in the warm water. Keep mixing until the starch and flour are diluted. Afterwards, mix in the oil. Set aside.

Cooking the Noodle Rolls

  1. Prepare your tray. Brush a thin layer of oil on the surface.

  2. Mix the batter again to make sure the starch isn’t sitting at the bottom. Scoop around 1/3 cup of the batter (or depending on the size of your dishes) and place it into the oiled baking dish. Cover with a lid then immediately microwave for 1.5 to 2 minutes until the rice mix is translucent.

  3. While the roll is in the microwave, prepare the tray and pour in ice water.

  4. After mircrowaving, place the container into the tray with ice water. Leave to cool for 2-3 minutes. Carefully scrape the sides with a spatula. Place some of the the mushroom and chopped scallions. You can scatter it around the rice sheet.

  5. From one end, carefully roll the rice sheet until you have a log. Transfer to a plate and repeat for the rest of the batter.

Serving the rolls

  1. Prepare the sauce by mixing everything together. Feel free to adjust according to your desired taste.

  2. Slice each roll. into 3-4 pieces .Add some chili garlic sauce and scallions onto your rolls (if desired). Pour over some the sauce and enjoy! I tend to drown my rolls in sauce but it’s totally up to you!

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page