top of page

Vegan Kimchi Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Yes, kimchi and cheese! I was skeptical about this combo when I first heard of it but just really had to try it out myself. Now I can’t get enough of vegan Kimchi Grilled Cheese.

The kimchi is sour and spicy all the while having that good crunch from the veggies that pairs so well with a salty and gooey melted cheese. Needless to say, I love this flavour combo. 🙈


See how I made the sandwich here:

I make my own vegan kimchi and use some vegan cheese shreds (a mix of vegan mozzarella and cheddar). The brand I used for this is Daiya but it's totally up to you what type of vegan cheese you wan to use.

You can get my vegan kimchi recipe here or watch the video below:

I don't really have an exact recipe for these sandwiches and it is all estimates based on my liking. Feel free to adjust the measurements based on how you like them--from cheesiness to spice, and how toasted you want the bread!

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes (and a whole section for Asian recipes!) that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Also, two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲

Find out more about my reforestation initiatives here.

 

Kimchi Grilled Cheese

Makes 2 sandwiches


Sandwiches filled with sour, spicy, and crunchy kimchi with the salty and gooey vegan cheese. 

It’s also really important to note that these are estimates and you can adjust these measurements based to your liking!

Ingredients

4 slices of your favourite bread (I used multigrain toasts)

2-3 tbsp vegan mayonnaise or butter

2 tbsp gochujang or korean chili paste, optional but highly recommended!

1 cup vegan mozzarella and cheddar cheese shreds

1 cup vegan kimchi (homemade recipe here)


Steps (See video here)

  1. Spread a generous amount of vegan mayonnaise or butter onto the outer sides of each piece of bread. On the other side, spread gochujang, if using. Add a generous amount of cheese and kimchi.

  2. Heat a pan over medium to medium high heat. Once hot, place the sandwich, mayonnaise/butter side down. Place a heavy flat surface, like a plate, on top to press down the sandwich.

  3. Leave to toast for a few minutes. Once golden brown and crisp, flip to toast the sandwich.

 
0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page