top of page

Cornmeal Muffins That I Love


I grew up eating corn muffins from Kenny Rogers Roasters and recently found myself wanting something sweet yet not-too-sweet muffins that can pass as somewhat savory. I also love the nutty, somewhat chewy, texture cornmeal gives so decided to give this one a go.


My first batch of cornmeal muffins was an epic failure. It turned out so dense and mushy that I wasn't sure I'd get it right. But after a few adjustments, I've found the balance of moist and fluffy, sweet and savory.

If you're not much of a super-sweet-muffins lover then you'll love these. These are the types of muffins I can eat in one sitting without feeling too heavy from all the refined sugars and oil.


I really love these muffins that I had these for breakfast (for days at a time) along with a green smoothie and a good book. Need I say, it was a good morning. The novel I recently finished was The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. It won't say much about it but it left me feeling all sorts of things--in a good way. I love a well-crafted story with depth and interesting character. Do check it out.

So back to the muffins, you can make these in big batches, freeze them, thaw, and quickly pop into the oven toaster for a couple of minutes on low heat.


Sharing the recipe below! Enjoy!

Cornmeal Muffins

1 cup soy milk

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup coconut sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 cup corn meal

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour

3/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

  1. In a bowl, mix the milk and vinegar and leave for 5 minutes while you prepare the rest if the ingredients.

  2. In a separate bowl, add in the dry ingredients (corn meal until baking soda) and mix well.

  3. Add in the sugar and vanilla extract into the milk mixture.

  4. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients with the wet mixture.

  5. Mix until well incorporated.

  6. Divide into muffin tins/containers and bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out a clean.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page