top of page

Avocado Pesto Pasta

Updated: Jun 7, 2019




I remade the avocado pesto from the Black Bean Burgers I made and paired it with some pasta + spiralized zucchini! I also don’t really like spiralized zucchini as replacement for pasta (BECAUSE NOTHING CAN REPLACE WHEAT PASTA IN MY OPINION) but decided to give it a go since I had a lone zucchini in my refrigerator. I also added in some fresh and sun-dried tomatoes. Anyway, this pasta isn’t as thick and creamy as other avocado pastas out there since I don’t really like it too creamy. But if you prefer it on the creamier side, feel free to add more of the avocado pesto!

AVOCADO PESTO PASTA

2 tomatoes, chopped

4-5 pieces of sun-dried tomatoes, chopped

3 cups cooked pasta of choice

1 7-inch zucchini, spiralized (optional, you can sub for more pasta)

1 tbsp olive oil

2 1/2 tbsp basil pesto (easy basil pesto recipe below)

3-4 tbsp fresh avocado (I used half an avocado and just scooped it out)

2 tsp lemon juice

1. Add everything into a food processor. Adjust according to taste (you can add in more lemon juice if you like it a bit more sour).

2. Heat a pan. Pour in the olive oil and sauté the tomatoes.

3. Add in the spiralled zucchini and sauté until tender.

4. Add in the cooked pasta and avocado pesto. Mix well.

5. Enjoy!

Note: You can opt to make and add more avocado pesto! I personally don't like it too creamy so sometimes I'd like adding extra basil pesto without the avocado.


HOMEMADE BASIL PESTO

2 1/2 cups packed basil leaves

1 cup olive oil

2 cloves garlic

1/2 cup pine nuts/cashews

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp salt, or to taste

1. Process everything until smooth then store in the jar to have with pasta, salads or as a sauce!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page