top of page

Tofu Katsu Curry (Vegan Recipe)

Updated: Jul 5, 2020

Finally sharing the recipe for this Tofu Katsu Curry here on my blog!


Here's how I made the tofu katsu:

Having tofu katsu with curry and some rice is one of my favourite ways to have it.

I finally decided to make a proper blogpost for this, that a lot of you guys have been loving! I initially wanted to make my own Japanese curry from scratch but couldn't do the authentic one any justice so I opted to share with you guys how I make one using my favourite S&B Curry. I use the mild variant but the medium hot one is good too, especially if you want it with more spice!

It's a box of 2 big blocks of curry that I store in my freezer once opened. It lasts me 4 cookings and each time I cook a batch of curry, it's good for 3-4 servings!

I make my tofu katsu really often but one of my favourite ways to enjoy it is with some Japanese Curry and some Japanese rice too!

Here's a little behind-the-scenes on how I cook the tofu katsu:

You can find the full recipe and steps below for the katsu and curry!


Check out other ways to enjoy tofu katsu:

3. Teriyaki Tofu Katsu Rice Bowls

These bowls are basically tofu katsu enjoyed with my homemade teriyaki sauce. Served over steamed short grain rice, some chopped lettuce, and togarashi.

If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :)

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes (and a whole section for Asian recipes!) that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Also, two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲

 

Tofu Katsu Curry

Good for 3-4 people


What you'll need:

Japanese Curry (recipe below)

Tofu Katsu (recipe below)

Cooked japanese rice or other short-grain rice, for serving

Sesame seeds, for garnishing


Japanese Curry

Good for 3-4 servings


1 tbsp oil (I used canola)

1 onion (80g), sliced

1 small (70g) bell pepper, sliced

2 medium (400g) potato, peeled and sliced

2 medium (150g) eggplant, sliced

1/2 block (60g) S&B medium curry (medium hot variant here)

3 cups water, or more as needed*

Salt, to taste


Notes

Eggplant tends to release water as it cooks, so feel free to add more water if not using eggplant. You can also adjust the water based on your desired consistency.


Steps

  1. Heat a pot or pan. I used a claypot.

  2. When hot, add in 1 tbsp oil. Sauté the onion and bell peppers for 2-3 minutes or until aromatic.

  3. Add in the potatoes, eggplant, and water. Add in the block of curry. Mix well.Leave to boil over medium heat. Cover and then stir every few minutes to break down the curry cube. Taste and season with salt as needed since potatoes tend to absorb the flavours well.

  4. Continue to mix and cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes until the sauce thickens. You can cover the pot or pan during this time. Feel free to add more water if you want a thinner curry.

  5. Once the potatoes are cooked through, turn off heat. Serve with tofu cats and japanese rice. Enjoy while hot!

Tofu “Katsu”

Makes 4-6, depending on the thickness of the tofu


2 200g blocks fresh extra firm tofu

Canola oil, for frying

1/2 tsp salt, or to taste


Batter

1 tbsp + 2 tsp cornstarch

1 tsp salt

1 tsp sweet paprika powder, optional

½ cup room temp. water


Breading

1 cup japanese breadcrumbs, or more as needed


Steps

  1. Drain water from the tofu by wrapping them in paper towels and then placing a heavy flat surface (a board or plate) on top of each. Leave for 15 minutes until water has been absorbed by the towels. You can also opt to use a tofu press.

  2. Slice each tofu into 1/2 inch thick square slabs. You may be able to slice one tofu into 3 slabs, depending on the thickness of your tofu. Season with salt as needed. If you end up with extra tofu, you can always enjoy it as is!

  3. Prepare the batter by mixing all the ingredients until smooth. In another plate or tray, add the breadcrumbs.

  4. Place each tofu in the batter then coat into the breadcrumbs. Repeat this step for the rest of the tofu.

  5. Heat the oil in a frying pan. Once hot (you can test this by putting a little bread crumbs), add in the tofu. Fry for around 6-8 minutes over medium heat until golden brown. Take them out of the oil then turn off the heat.

  6. Let cool for 10-15 minutes to maintain the crispness. Enjoy with some curry and rice!

 
 
1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page