top of page

Meaty Mushroom Quinoa Meatballs and Gravy

Updated: Dec 21, 2019


I am proud to say that these meatballs are approved by my meat-loving family and friends. I often hesitate sharing my food with others because through the months--years--of being vegan, I know my taste buds have changed and slowly adapted an inclination to simpler tasting foods. But I gave this one a go, and they loved it.

I used mushrooms and rice as the based to create this somewhat 'meaty' texture. I processed all the ingredients and formed them into balls but you can opt to shape them in your own liking!

This has become one of my go-to recipes that never fail to satisfy my meatball and gravy cravings. Plus, it's a super hearty and comforting meal.


I also tried making a mushroom gravy from scratch and it turned out pretty well! I love having this mushroom gravy with other recipes too!

These meatballs were fried but you can opt to bake them. I really, really suggest you fry them though. Yes, it's unhealthier but trust me, it's worth it. It turns up juicier and crispier.

Anyway, before I get one more about this recipe, you can find the full recipes below. Enjoy!


Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my Vegan Kitchen eBook, which contains over 95 recipes that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲

 

If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :) 

 

Meaty Mushroom Quinoa Meatballs

Makes around 20 meatballs

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked mushrooms (around 400 grams fresh mushrooms—I used fresh oyster mushrooms)

  • 1 cup cooked brown rice

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa (or sub for more brown rice)

  • 1/4 cup onion, diced

  • 1/2 tbsp garlic, minced

  • 2 tsp packed basil, chopped (I used fresh)

  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs

  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour

  • 1 1/2 tsp sea salt, or to taste

  • Canola oil or other neutral oil, for frying

Steps

  1. In a non-stick or lightly-oiled pan, sauté the mushrooms with the onions and garlic. This is to get the water out of the mushrooms especially if you’re using fresh ones.

  2. In a bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients along with the cooked mushrooms, garlic, and onions.

  3. Place the mixture into a food processor/blender and process until well incorporated. In this part you can opt to leave chunks of the mushrooms or process it into a fine paste-like texture similar to ground meat.

  4. In a pan, heat some oil for frying. You can also bake the meatballs but they won’t turn out as evenly brown and crisp.*

  5. Roll the balls and set aside for cooking.

  6. Fry the meatballs for 3-5 minutes until golden brown.

*BAKING OPTON: If you intend to bake these, heat the oven at 350F. I use an oven toaster with temperature settings. On a baking sheet with parchment paper, brush some oil onto the paper. Place the meatballs and drizzle on some more oil. Bake for 25-30 minutes, turning the balls halfway through for even cooking.

Mushroom Gravy

*Note: If using dried mushrooms, don't discard the water use to rehydrate the mushrooms.


Steps

  1. In a pan, heat the vegan butter or oil. Add in the flour and mix until a paste is formed.

  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients.

  3. Mix well and simmer for 5-10 minutes until thick and smooth.*

  4. Add in salt to taste then mix well. Best enjoyed while hot! You can also store this in the refrigerator once cool, then heat up again when ready to use. Can last up to 3 days in the refrigerator. Note that it will thicken up when cold, but will return to its regular consistency when heated.

*You can opt to use an immersion blender to easily dissolve the lumps of flour that can form.

 


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page