top of page

Pink Beet Balls and Yellow Basmati Rice



This has become one of my go-to recipes whether it's for a falafel-inspired patty or some meatballs. I used chickpeas and quinoa as the base for this recipe and got creative with it! You can opt to omit the beet and use the rest of the ingredients as a base recipe for any patty/ball you'd like to create. I had these pink beet balls with my favourite yellow basmati rice, some greens, and a beet hummus. I won't be sharing the beet hummus here yet since the recipe still needs a bit of tweaking.

It's been a busy past few weeks so I haven't had much time to come up with blogposts. So I'm really happy to put this up here as I've been wanting to the past few weeks. So, here it is! Check out the recipe below.


Pink Beet Balls

1 1/2 cup cooked whole chickpeas

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

2 tbsp flour

1 1/4 tsp salt, or to taste

1 tsp cumin seed powder

Dash of pepper

1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax seed meal + 3 tbsp water)*

1 tbsp mashed/pureed cooked beets

  1. Mash or quickly process the chickpeas. Leave a few chunks but not too much that the patties won’t form well.

  2. Transfer the chickpeas into a bowl.

  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

  4. Form into balls or patties (it’s really up to you!).

  5. Heat some oil in a pan. (I used a non-stick pan and added in 1/4 cup of oil, just enough to cover the surface).

  6. Once the pan is hot, place the patties and cook on medium heat for 3 minutes on each side until golden brown.

*Note: I added in a flax egg as a binder because I cooked my own chickpeas and they turned out pretty dry when processed compared to those canned ones that are soaked in liquid.

Yellow Basmati Rice

1 cup basmati rice, dry

1 3/4 cup water

1 1/2 tsp turmeric powder

  1. Rinse the rice in running water 3-4 times until the water comes out clearer.

  2. In a rice cooker, add in the rice, 1 3/4 cup of the water, and the turmeric powder.

  3. After cooking, fluff with a fork and enjoy while hot!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page