top of page

Easy Teriyaki Fried Rice with Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

Updated: Dec 8, 2019

I recently made this recipe with some leftover white rice and a frozen mix of corn, peas, and carrots! So good and super easy! Here's a photo of the batch I recently made:


A very long overdue blogpost for this Teriyaki Fried Rice! What I love about fried rice is how easy it is to make and you can really use any vegetables/proteins you can in stock. It's also a perfect bulk meal to prepare that doesn't require much time nor effort. I personally love a good sauce with my fried rice so I made some Teriyaki Sauce! But on days when I'm in a rush, I go for the trusty soy sauce to season my rice.

This teriyaki sauce can also be a glaze for some fried foods or as a dip! It's really versatile so you can have it in different ways!

Check out the full recipe below!

Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes (and a whole section for Asian recipes!) that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Also, two trees (instead of 1!) will be planted for every download of my eBook through non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.🌲


If you make this recipe, please tag me on my Facebook or Instagram and use the hashtag #thefoodietakesflight :) 

 

Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

Makes around 1 cup

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup + 1 tbsp coconut sugar (or other sugar of choice)

1/2 tsp minced ginger

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp cornstarch + 2 tbsp room temperature water

*Note: If you have regular soy sauce, feel free to lessen to 1/4 cup and taste as you go since it can get a little salty if using regular soy sauce.


Steps

  1. In a bowl, mix the corn starch and water.

  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients. Mix.

  3. Pour the mixture into a saucepan and leave to boil, stirring occasionally.

  4. Leave to simmer until the sauce thickens from the cornstarch, around 7 minutes.

  5. Turn off heat and set aside to use for the fried rice or other dishes. I store mine in a bottle and store it in the refrigerator for future use.

Teriyaki Fried Rice

Good for 2-3 servings

3 cups leftover cooked rice or quinoa (I used a mix of black rice and quinoa)

1/2 cup firm tofu, sliced into small cubes

1/4 cup bell peppers, diced*

1/4 cup corn*

1/4 cup carrots, diced*

1/4 cup peas*

1/4 cup purple cabbage, shredded*

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/3-1/2 cup teriyaki sauce (depends how flavorful you want it)

2 tbsp sesame oil

Sesame seeds, for topping


*Note: the vegetables are totally up to you!

Steps

  1. Heat a large pan. Pour in 2 tbsp sesame oil.

  2. Sauté the garlic until slightly golden brown. Add in the vegetables and tofu.

  3. Cook until tender. Mix in the rice/quinoa.

  4. Pour in the teriyaki sauce and cook for 2-3 minutes.

  5. Turn off heat and enjoy while hot! Feel free to add more teriyaki sauce before eating! That’s what I did and it was really good!

 





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page