top of page

Oyster Mushroom Asada (My Take On Carne Asada!)


I'm sharing another mexican-inspired recipe: this time it's mushroom asada! This was inspired by the carne asada I would usually have as filling in tacos and burritos.

I used oyster mushrooms because of its very subtle flavour and unique texture--plus it grows abundantly here in the Philippines.


Oyster Mushroom Asada (My Take On Carne Asada!) | thefoodietakesflight

I marinated the oysters in the marinade I made before cooking them with some bell peppers and onions. Mushrooms being very porous absorb liquid very well!


Oyster Mushroom Asada (My Take On Carne Asada!) | thefoodietakesflight

After sautéing the mushrooms, I placed them on top of some turmeric adlai (Job's Tears Barley) but you can enjoy them as is or wrap them up in your favourite tortilla to make some tacos or burritos.


Oyster Mushroom Asada (My Take On Carne Asada!) | thefoodietakesflight

Check out the full recipe below. Enjoy!


Oyster Mushroom Asada (My Take On Carne Asada!) | thefoodietakesflight
 

OYSTER MUSHROOM ASADA

Serves 2-3 people

300 grams fresh oyster mushrooms*

2 tbsp oil

Black pepper

1 onion, sliced

2 small red peppers, sliced

Marinade:

2 tbsp lime juice

2 tbsp coconut sugar

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 1/2 tsp cumin seed powder

1/2 tsp cayenne, optional

*If you don’t have access to oyster mushrooms, you can also use fresh button mushrooms and slice them in half.

Steps

  • Mix all the ingredients for the marinade until sugar is diluted.

  • Break apart some of the mushrooms (especially the larger pieces) using your hands. Add into the marinade and coat each mushroom well. Leave for 10 minutes or more to marinate.

  • Heat a pan. Add in the oil and saute the onions and bell peppers until cooked. Season with some black pepper. Add in the marinated mushrooms.

  • Cook over medium heat for 10-12 minutes, mixing around until the mushrooms are slightly golden and have absorbed the marinade.

  • Finish off with some fresh cilantro. Enjoy while hot!

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page