top of page

Stir-Fried Sweet Chili Tofu

Updated: Dec 30, 2019


Decided to take a break from all the studying and school work to write this down because food is my escape.There’s something about cooking that is so relaxing. It’s my way of unwinding and recharging. Not only is it rewarding to have a good meal after hours and hours of school and work, but it also leaves me with this much lighter feeling—even just for a while.

This tofu dish was a spontaneous cooking session. Unplanned and a completely accidental success. For the past few months I’ve been opting for oven baked tofu that I was just really getting tired of after having it almost every day since popping blocks of marinated tofu cubes in the oven while i do other things was the easiest way to cook it without having to use a pan and additional utensils. So I’m really really happy that I finally found a (possibly) new go-to recipe for tofu after months of having the same flavours for my tofu.

I coated the tofu in some cornstarch before pan frying them to create a crisp outside that go well with the sauce when mixed afterwards.

I'm so excited to be sharing this with you all! It reminds me of those stir-fried dishes I’d have in asian restaurants. It’s a perfect blend of sweet and spicy. If you prefer things less spicy, go ahead and lessen or complete omit the sriracha! Hope you guys like this one. Kind of really scared to hear feedback for this recipe because I really love it.


Are you looking for more delicious, vegan recipes? Check out my latest Vegan Kitchen eBook, that has over 95 recipes that are packed with flavour and made with simple and easily accessible ingredients! Two trees will be planted for every download of my eBook.🌲

 

Stir-Fried Sweet Chili Tofu

Good for 2-3 servings

2 blocks extra firm tofu (around 240g each), sliced into cubes

1 heaping tbsp corn starch

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup bell pepper, sliced into squares

2 tbsp sesame oil, for frying

Onion leeks, chopped

Sweet Chili Sauce

6 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tbsp corn starch

2 tbsp coconut sugar or other sugar or choice

1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup or other liquid sweetener

2 tsp chili sauce (I used sriracha)

1/8 cup or 2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tsp sesame oil

  1. Dry the tofu and cut into cubes. I wrap the tofu in towels and place a plate on top of it until excess liquid is absorbed by the towels. You can also opt to use a tofu press.

  2. Sprinkle the salt on the tofu cubes. Add the cornstarch. Coat the tofu well.

  3. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients for the sauce.

  4. In a pan, heat around 1 1/2 tbsp of sesame oil and then fry the tofu cubes until crisp and golden. You may need to turn around the tofu cubes.

  5. Take out the tofu and sautee the onion leeks and bell peppers in a little sesame oil.

  6. Add in the tofu, sauce, and then mix well. The sauce will thicken from the corn starch.

  7. Serve with a bowl of rice and enjoy while hot!

 


2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page